Homemade mushroom sourdough pizza

Part I: The crust

I use a basic artisan dough recipe (flour, water, salt at the right
hydration level). The oil is olive oil. I half-bake my pizza crust
before adding the toppings and finishing the baking. At 7,000 elevation in a conventional oven, this means 10 minutes in a preheated conventional oven at 550°F on unglazed ceramic tiles. Complete directions for making and baking pizza dough in a conventional oven or a solar cooker can be found in my book Wild Bread: Handbaked sourdough artisan breads in your own kitchen. My book The Sunny Side of Cooking: Solar cooking and other ecologically friendly cooking methods for the 21st century has solar pizza crust directions.

Part II: The sauce & toppings

My homemade sauce contains olive oil, fennel seeds, garlic, tomato paste, oregano, basil, evaporated cane juice, salt. The Sunny Side of Cooking has directions on how to sauté garlic and other small items in a solar box cooker, as well as my pizza sauce recipe. The toppings: broiled tofu chunks (defrosted frozen tofu tossed in canola oil and soy sauce and broiled for eight minutes at 7,000 feet), mushrooms, red bell pepper, onion, black olives. I bake the pizza another 10 minutes. I add steamed broccoli after the pizza is baked.

www.LisaRayner.com
www.amazon.com/author/lisarayner

One thought on “Homemade mushroom sourdough pizza

Leave a Reply

